HIGH QUALITY, HARD TO GET AND CUSTOM ELECTROLYTIC CAPACITORS FOR POWER SUPPLIES, DISPLAYS, TVs, MOTHERBOARDS AND MORE!

testing power supply ripple?

Hardware Insights specializes in power supplies. In this part of the forum, you will find detailed information on every aspect of power supplies, including how to repair them and how to judge if a power supply is a good quality unit or not.

testing power supply ripple?

Postby Pentium » July 27th, 2013, 4:53 pm

C_hegge, I am curious what your method is for testing power supply ripple? I just got a rigol digital oscilloscope, and I have never used one before. I understand they have to be tuned. All I really know is that you want to test peak to peak voltages in mV. I would really love some insight because your method seems to be extremely accurate. Thank you!
Pentium
Veteran Member

Re: testing power supply ripple?

Postby c_hegge » July 27th, 2013, 10:06 pm

There's not actually much tuning involved. What is important is to use the 1X probe, not the 10X. Most probes have a switch on them allowing you to set whether it's 1X or 10X. You also need two small capacitors in parallel with the probe - a 10uF electrolytic and a 1uF Ceramic. I use Nichicon PW for the lytic and whatever I can find for the Ceramic. I think Wolf uses a Panny FC (same specs as PW) for the lytic. Note too, that, when testing the -12V rail, you need to reverse the capacitors (so you don't make the lytic explode), but not the probe. That grounding wire must be connected to ground at all times, even when testing a negative voltage. The way I have it set up on the tester is to have a rotary switch to select the rail to monitor, and a set of caps for each rail, like illustrated here. I couldn't come up with a way to use the one set of caps for all rails without reverse polarising them for the -12V rail.
Attachments
Load Tester Switch.png
Load Tester Switch.png (20.79 KiB) Viewed 24344 times
c_hegge
Seasoned Veteran