HIGH QUALITY, HARD TO GET AND CUSTOM ELECTROLYTIC CAPACITORS FOR POWER SUPPLIES, DISPLAYS, TVs, MOTHERBOARDS AND MORE!

Casecom ADK-S500 pictures

Hardware Insights specializes in power supplies. In this part of the forum, you will find detailed information on every aspect of power supplies, including how to repair them and how to judge if a power supply is a good quality unit or not.

Casecom ADK-S500 pictures

Postby c_hegge » March 12th, 2015, 10:51 pm

So, this was to be my last review here, but unfortunately, I just don't believe my results. So, I have opted not to publish them. I'll just say that it all seems far too good to be true. So, as a compromise, I'll just post a few pics of it and its internals here.
Attachments
cc.JPG
It sure looks the part. It's even modular.
cc.JPG (423.53 KiB) Viewed 18402 times
cc-label.JPG
cc-label.JPG (431.28 KiB) Viewed 18402 times
cc-internals.JPG
It sure looks quite decent. I dunno who the OEM is, though.
cc-internals.JPG (344.91 KiB) Viewed 18402 times
cc-fan.JPG
The fan is an AOBOS 140mm sleeve bearing (with only a tiny amount of thick grease). It get's noticeable above 300W load, but it's not all that loud.
cc-fan.JPG (292.35 KiB) Viewed 18402 times
cc-pfcfet.JPG
The switchers and PFC FETs are all MagnaChip MDF18N50s
cc-pfcfet.JPG (219.99 KiB) Viewed 18402 times
cc-12vfet.JPG
The 12V rail uses Synchronous rectification with CET CEP6056 FETs
cc-12vfet.JPG (280.4 KiB) Viewed 18402 times
cc-secondary.JPG
The secondary side as a whole. No DC-DC, but it's NOT group regulated. That does improve the voltage stability, but no to the 0% number across all 3 rails that my DMM told me.
cc-secondary.JPG (536.82 KiB) Viewed 18402 times
cc-cap.JPG
ChengX caps. No. Just, No. A recap is in order, it seems.
cc-cap.JPG (325.14 KiB) Viewed 18402 times
cc-controller.JPG
The controller is an ST9S429. TPU recon it supports OCP on two 12V rails, but this does not appear to be implemented, as there are no OCP shunts that I could see.
cc-controller.JPG (287.9 KiB) Viewed 18402 times
cc-soldering.JPG
The soldering. It's kind of OK, except for...
cc-soldering.JPG (466.9 KiB) Viewed 18402 times
cc-solderingbulnder1.JPG
...This. That's really not a good look.
cc-solderingbulnder1.JPG (294.78 KiB) Viewed 18402 times
cc-solderingblunder2.JPG
That's not exactly a good look either. Whoever the OEM is, they need to do some work on their soldering skills.
cc-solderingblunder2.JPG (388.68 KiB) Viewed 18402 times
User avatar
c_hegge
Seasoned Veteran
 
Posts: 1633
Joined: March 16th, 2011, 8:45 pm
Location: North Coast, NSW, Australia

Re: Casecom ADK-S500 pictures

Postby LongRunner » March 13th, 2015, 1:10 am

It looks to me like they used the resistance of the filter coils to measure the +12V currents.

Obviously that 15A rated input draw is impossible and the +5V output can't be capable of 24A if it and +3.3V can deliver no more than 100W between them. :huh: And that upside-down SMD resistor is also a stunning QC fail. :lol2:

I'd also prefer if they used single thick wires rather than bundles of thinner wires to the modular connector board, e.g. 1 × 12AWG instead of 4 × 18AWG, although that's perhaps nit-picking on my part. I can't say I feel totally comfortable with that naked EMI filter board in fairly close proximity to a few of the secondary-side wires, for that matter, and that threaded stud attached to the rear panel is clearly intended for the earth connection, so why didn't they attach the earth wire there (instead of holding it under the PCB screw and running the risk, however slight, that someone attempting to repair the unit will fail to put it back)? If it's any consolation, at least they used a larger MOV than in many other units.
Information is far more fragile than the HDDs it's stored on.

Smart people don't buy "smart" devices without very carefully weighing up the risks and benefits beforehand.

My PC: Core i3 4130 on GA-H87M-D3H with GT640 OC 2GiB and 2 * 8GiB Kingston HyperX 1600MHz, Kingston SA400S37120G, WD3003FZEX-00Z4SA0 and HDS721010CLA630, Pioneer BDR-209DBKS and Optiarc AD-7200S, Seasonic G-360, Chenbro PC31031, Linux Mint Cinnamon 20.2 (with Windows 7 still accessible if needed).
LongRunner
Moderator
 
Posts: 906
Joined: May 17th, 2013, 5:48 pm
Location: Albany, Western Australia

Re: Casecom ADK-S500 pictures

Postby Wester547 » March 13th, 2015, 5:01 pm

c_hegge wrote:So, this was to be my last review here,
Is it okay if I ask why (is Behemot taking over?)?
Wester547
Veteran Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: July 8th, 2012, 2:07 am

Re: Casecom ADK-S500 pictures

Postby LongRunner » March 13th, 2015, 5:40 pm

Yes. By the way, I've also been given the role of quality control here. (I've done it on an article c_hegge has drafted on dealing with dust, and would have done it on the intended review of the unit in this thread if it wasn't for the questionable results.)

I may eventually write my own content, although I presently have other priorities.
Information is far more fragile than the HDDs it's stored on.

Smart people don't buy "smart" devices without very carefully weighing up the risks and benefits beforehand.

My PC: Core i3 4130 on GA-H87M-D3H with GT640 OC 2GiB and 2 * 8GiB Kingston HyperX 1600MHz, Kingston SA400S37120G, WD3003FZEX-00Z4SA0 and HDS721010CLA630, Pioneer BDR-209DBKS and Optiarc AD-7200S, Seasonic G-360, Chenbro PC31031, Linux Mint Cinnamon 20.2 (with Windows 7 still accessible if needed).
LongRunner
Moderator
 
Posts: 906
Joined: May 17th, 2013, 5:48 pm
Location: Albany, Western Australia

Re: Casecom ADK-S500 pictures

Postby c_hegge » March 13th, 2015, 9:42 pm

Wester547 wrote:Is it okay if I ask why (is Behemot taking over?)?

Pretty much for the same reason as Longrunner. I just have too many other important things going on right now and don't have the time (or desire, really) to write reviews anymore.
User avatar
c_hegge
Seasoned Veteran
 
Posts: 1633
Joined: March 16th, 2011, 8:45 pm
Location: North Coast, NSW, Australia

Re: Casecom ADK-S500 pictures

Postby Behemot » March 18th, 2015, 1:39 am

What was the problem with your measurements BTW? You haven't told me on BadCaps… :huh:
User avatar
Behemot
Administrator
 
Posts: 408
Joined: November 28th, 2014, 8:57 am
Location: CZ

Re: Casecom ADK-S500 pictures

Postby c_hegge » March 18th, 2015, 2:29 am

I hinted at it with the comments on one of the pictures. First of all, not even severe crossloading made the voltages budge. It was absolutely 0% variation on all 3 rails the whole time. Not even Delta can do that on a $400 PSU, let alone a no-name $80 consumer PSU.

The efficiency was also quite a bit worse than what 80plus got - it failed to meet the required 85% at 20% load, even though it was being run on 230V, not 110V (and so it should have been a bit more efficient).

Between the unusual results and the fact that I don't have particularly high end equipment, I question the accuracy enough not to publish it.
User avatar
c_hegge
Seasoned Veteran
 
Posts: 1633
Joined: March 16th, 2011, 8:45 pm
Location: North Coast, NSW, Australia


Return to POWER SUPPLIES!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests